F5 Cloud Services Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Is there a service-level agreement (SLA) for Cloud Services?

Yes, SLAs for various F5CS services can be found here: https://www.f5.com/pdf/customer-support/eusa-sla.pdf

Q: What are organizations, users, and roles?

F5 Cloud Services has the following object types in its hierarchy:

  • User: A person who signs up to use Cloud Services.
  • Organization: The top level of your service hierarchy.
  • Service: A Cloud Services offering that is associated with an organization and managed by users who have the right privileges.

Organizations: When you create your F5 services account, you must define your organization. This organization will be your default organization, and you are the owner. An organization can have as many associated Cloud Services as you need. The organization owner can create new divisions or change the Cloud Services for the account. Other users, if they have the correct role, can also make these changes. An organization can have as many as 100 users.

Divisions: A division is one step down in the hierarchy from the organization. You can use divisions to subdivide your organization in whatever way that makes sense for your organizational structure. For example, you might have regional divisions that correspond to the regional development offices in your company. Each organization can have multiple divisions, with a maximum of 25 divisions. You can assign a service, such as the DNS Cloud Service, to a division or organization. You can add and delete divisions from the Cloud Services portal at any time as your organizational structure changes. Note however that if you are using the API, you must remove all service configurations from the division before you delete it.

Roles: Roles grant a predefined set of permissions or privileges to a user in an organization or a division. A role grants any of the privileges that you can assign to an individual, such as creating divisions, adding or removing services, or modifying the existing configuration. In addition to the Owner role, Cloud Services supports a variety of user roles, including read-only roles.

The Owner role: An owner is the default administrator of an account–a user who can manage all aspects of an Cloud Services organization. If you create an organization, you automatically get the Owner role. Cloud Services currently supports only one owner per organization.

Owners can:

  • Add and remove users
  • Add, configure, and remove Cloud Services
  • View all billing and metrics for the organization and its associated Cloud Services

Users: Users can be associated with multiple organizations. If a user is in multiple divisions of an organization, the user can have different roles in each division. A user can have the same role or different roles in each division to which the user is invited. You cannot delete a user, but you can remove the user from your organization, which ensures that they have no access to or privileges in your organization.

Q: Which browsers does F5 Cloud Services support?

The supported browsers for F5 Cloud Services are the two most recent versions of Chrome, Safari, Edge and Firefox.